Kosmo/5U EuroPi

I am in the process of designing a Kosmo/5U variant of Europi. It’s mainly an exercise in trying to designing a module for both 5U (I started my adventure a few years ago in 5U) and Kosmo (I am very much in fond of Kosmo and the forum and it’s lovely people. It makes me hesitate to jump from 5U to Kosmo, but that is another topic).
The idea is that the pcb’s are usable in both formats, the panel of course not. Although I have thought of making a panel with v grooves or so that can be cracked to fit both formats, but it seemed a step to far…

I am relatively new to kicad and pcb manufacturing. I based my schematics on the published europi schematics and adapted here and there:

• added JST connector for my personal 5U system
  • added opamp decoupling and termination of unused
  • added jumpers for selecting SDA/SCL order of OLED pinsocket

I was wondering if there are people out there interested in the idea of Kosmopi/Feifupi that could help me with some peer review of my adapted schematics. I have pointed out some questions in red text.

tnx!

3 Likes
  • Jack sleeves should always be grounded.
  • Unused op amps are terminated correctly.
  • MCP6002 bypass capacitor should be 100 nF from pin 8 to ground.
  • In the original schematic no bypass caps are shown connecting to the TL074 power pins or the MCP6002, but (their) C3 to C6 are four 100 nF caps. I’d guess they are supposed to be the TL074 bypass caps, but none are provided for the MCP6002. Since you’ve added bypass caps to the TL074 power pins you can delete (your) C9 through C13.
  • D3 could be a 1N4148, but 1N5817 is okay too.
  • I don’t understand D4. Analogously to D1 and D2 it will protect pin 39 against a negative voltage on the +5 V rail but I don’t see how that would occur since the rail is directly from the +5 V regulator.
  • I don’t know if both ±12 V and ±15 V will work.

Unsolicited comments: