YuSynth Modules

Hi Everyone, my first post so hoping that this is in the right place. I am fairly new to building Kosmo format / DIY modular and have completed my first module. Tried the ADSR as it seemed like the easiest to get me going! I was wondering about building the Yu Synth Fixed Resonant Filter Bank Module but I realized these are all 15v. I was wondering t how easy/difficult or even possible it is to use 15v designs in my plans for a Kosmo Rack? I did have a scan across the forum and could not find a similar thread so apologies if I missed that. I would love to have a proper filter bank but am struggling to find anything that is DIY in 5U and 12v. Any assistant greatly appreciated and many apologies if this is really noob question.
Thanks

5 Likes

Looks like you stepped up your ambition level in a hurry! Nothing wrong with that.

I’m prepared to be contradicted by those who understand this stuff better, but I’m betting the circuit would work just fine with ±12V. Sometimes you need to change some component values to get the right signal voltage levels or what have you, but here I think that’s not an issue. You could and probably should breadboard it and try it — I wouldn’t try to breadboard the whole thing, of course, but you could do the inputs, one output, and one filter frequency.

3 Likes

Many thanks for the reply, I agree with you that it’s ambitious but it is more about planning what I want to include in the rack overall and it will be a module down the road a bit ! (erm…quite a bit tbh). Good to know that it should be ok, I will try your suggestion before I go full-on and buy the whole thing. I hope that Sam considers adding something similar to the FFB in his own brand of Kosmo modules.
Many Thanks again.

2 Likes

You’ll get a bit more limited headroom, but that probably only matters for the low input (which has 2.5× gain) and is easy to attenuate away (*). Otherwise there’s nothing in that circuit that depends on the extra 3 V.