WAV trigger build for work - life size walk-on piano

so, watching sam’s videos about synth bike 3, and how he used the wav trigger for drums, inspired me to start using them for work! i’ve built several things with WAV triggers inside them - the only one i have photo/video of at the moment is the “walk-on piano”. yes, like the one from the movie. (for context - i work as a technician at a science/children’s museum.)

mine uses two WAV triggers (17 notes!!! had to buy a second board…) and the pins are connected to this stuff called “low-profile strip switch”, US brand name Tapeswitch ( link ). it’s intended for use in factories with big machinery, so that if you step on the strip or pad, the machine stops before you die. OR, if you step OFF the switch, the machine stops because you walked away.

and jesus it’s expensive. 50 feet is just over US $700. but it needs to last “forever”, with hundreds of people jumping on it as hard as they possibly can with their full body weight, for 8 hours a day every day of the week. and it’s the only thing i’ve found that will take it for more than a few weeks (the previous one lasted just under 15 years).

the bottom is just a sheet of MDF, and the graphic is CNC’d second-surface-print 1/4" polycarbonate. second-surface means that you flip the graphic and print it on the reverse side of the material, so that it’s protected when the front surface inevitably gets beaten on and scratched to hell. the poly just slots between the MDF and a piece of aluminum corner trim and is held in place by gravity.

the thing is crazy popular! kids love making noise. older kids love showing off what they’ve learned in piano lessons (mostly Fur Elise). adults love to try all sorts of stuff. i think my favorite is when i heard the distinct melody of tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture coming from behind my office door.

a little video of me stomping around: https://streamable.com/hg4oes