Some questions about powering modules, and sequencing

Hi! first time posting here.
I’m trying to make a modular synth in the KOSMO format. I have almost everything needed for the simple VCO, VCF and EG(from stripboard layouts). I plan on making these modules and then adding to the synth with his new modules.

I am new to electronics and stuff, so I have a couple of questions.
I have the FC microbus and I can’t figure out how I must power the modules. As I understand I need to get the 4 way terminal headears, bur I’m not sure. Can somenone please explain to a newbie how to connect the modules to power?

Also I have questions about sequencing the synth, I was thinking of the beatstep pro or the keystep. Do I have to build the sequencer Sam has a video about? In his envelope generator video he had a simple setup with the drumbrute impact i want something similar. Can I sequence the synth with only the sequencer or do i need a clock input?

thanks

2 Likes

Hey, welcome!
Check out this thread about the microbus:

What i do is i get connect em up with IDC socket connectors and ribbon cables. Links in there show you where you can buy em. The microbus has 2x8 (16pin) connections, but kosmo modules and most eurorack uses only the 10 pins.

What i do:
I put this on the microbus:

I put this on the modules:

Grab some of these:

And these:

And several feet of 10 conductor ribbon cables:

Then, you make a ribbon cable with one end is 16 pin, and the other is 10 pin. making sure the orientation matches what you expect to plug into. here is a reference for the pins:

Basically, just make sure you know where the +12v and -12v are going to be.

You can make your own sequencer, you can buy a beatstep, keystep, or keystep pro, all those will work for you. I recommend the beatstep or keystep pro. The OG Keystep isnt a bad option either. All those have an internal clock so you good.

3 Likes

If you’d rather not build power cables you can buy them ready made too: