New to modular looking for some tips for diy

Hello!
I’ve been following LMNC for a couple years now, but since i finally finished UNI and have some more time I decided to invest it into making my own modular setup!
I’m no stranger to building the circuits, but I am new to modular synthesizers, hahaha

I was wondering where to start (already have my plans/schematics for a case and eurorack-style power supply) which modules should I build first?
I was thinking about a VCO, VCF, VCA and the bigbutton
but i’m not sure if one of each is enough…

Also my country is not that good to find patch cables either the 1/4 or 1/8 ones, so any recommendation for international shipping for those would be appreciated as well!

As a final note, I have an arturia minilab mk2, and if anyone knows some way to interface it with the modules, I’d really like to know more about it!

6 Likes

One of each will get you pretty far, though an ADSR envelope generator should be in there too.

If you compare to a Moog Mother-32 semimodular synth it has one VCO, one VCF, one VCA, one envelope generator, one noise source, one LFO, a sequencer, and some utilities. So that’s plenty to get started. A MIDI to CV will let you use a MIDI keyboard, but you don’t need to; you can use a CV keyboard, or other CV controllers or sources.

I can’t help on international shipping but someone from Brazil recently posted that getting audio cables of either size was difficult for them but they could easily get wire and banana plugs and jacks. Those will work fine for patch cables too; some prefer them.

4 Likes

Awesome!
I was hoping I wouldn’t need to resort to banana cables as they tend to become loose rather quickly, but they are an option…
as for the MIDI to CV, I like this idea as there are plenty projects for that, but now I just need a way to convert the USB out to MIDI on the minilab ahha, I’m hoping it uses MIDI over USB as that would be easy to convert to MIDI over regular MIDI cables…