Module Suggestion help -

Hey everyone!

So Tax time is coming up and I will have some extra spending monies.

I plan to get a Beatstep Pro coming up here soon and I have a good Idea of what I am going to do for the bass and melody lines for connection, but am at a complete loss for the drum sequencer aspect.

Do people go the route of having individual modules for independent drum voices to trigger and acct? or do people route the beatstep into a drum machine for the sounds?

I am a novice at connecting all the various gear, but the Beatstep Pro looks like it will be a wonderful tool for bringing everything together.

Suggestions for drum modules? all in one drum modules, independent voices.
The more cost effective, the better.
(I cant go spending ridiculous amounts or I would just get a bunch or erica synths drum modules and call it a day haha)

Thanks!

1 Like

When I had one, I just planned on building the wav trigger Sam posted about that one time.

2 Likes

Where would that be at? :slight_smile:

Something built around this one, I assume: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/13660

Put samples on an SD card, trigger with MIDI (or buttons).

1 Like

if you have a polyphonic synth, you could use the drum sequencer to play polyphonic patterns.

You could also connect it to an axoloti for almost the same price, and create your very own drum machine. I’m working on it and it’s a lot of fun!

1 Like

Hey @d42kn355!

You can send a trigger for all 8 of those beatstep channels! In my video below, I used a triangle wave for bass, and a saw for lead, a single drum trigger for bass kick and a drum trigger to gate the AR on the MS20 filter. All LMNC stripboards!

2 Likes

Wav Trigger is mentioned here, alongside the BigButton:

Patreon build post here:
https://www.patreon.com/posts/sparkfun-wav-vid-17551079

1 Like

TEACH ME. lol -
Have any links with any further info or a project example?