Help: A Newbie's Drone Synth

Hello everyone! I’m new to this DIY stuff but it has always been a dream of mine. Problem is I know nothing about eletronic circuits but I’m studying hard and trying to keep up. But to be honest I really need help.

So my goal to begin this journey is to build a drone synth mostly like Sam’s (except with a lot less than 100 OSC). So basically 8 OSC, 1 LFO and 1 Low Pass Filter and fit into a box and plug it to the eletric current. I’m going to start by building 1 OSC using the simple OSC schematics that sam provided. My main issue is beyond that point. But I’ll start with a simple question and then I’ll ask more along the way: how do I combine the sound from all 8 OSC? I noticed in Sam’s video he had all the out coming from the different OSC connected into a stripboard ou then to a jack output but I have no idea how to do it.

Thank you for your time and I’m really glad to have found and to be part of this community!

4 Likes

You can join them together using a mixer circuit. See my thread on sam’s stripboard design:

You are also going to want to power it. If you want you can build your own power supply. Link here for reference as well:

If you just want a simple project cause its all intimidating, just do like sam said and use some batteries! A lot of us here are beginners learning. There are also plenty of experienced folk.

If you have any other questions just ask yo.

Dont be scared to try it!

4 Likes

Thank you very much for your reply Caustic. I’ll definitely look it out! I’m going to start with the simple stuff building just 1 OSC first and then connect using the batteries. When I’m confident enough I’ll try to connect everything and ask for help along the way because there’s already a lot information to process.

Any tips on where to buy boxes for the final product?

1 Like

Hey Pek - also new here.

Have you seen the 40106 hex oscillator setup?