Hagiwo rotary encoder question

Hey I got a quick question about a specific component. I want to build Hagiwo’s 6CH gate sequencer, but am a little stumped with the rotary encoder and what pin is connected to where. I’ve never used one before and looking at the schematic, it really confuses me with what goes to what pin. Can anyone help? And I included the schematic as an example

2 Likes

That’s a bit of an odd way of representing one, though technically correct.

Generally, you’ll find them with 3 pins in a row, and sometimes an additional two pins on the other side.

Those two pins are the push button. Im unsure whether that’s the push button connected to D12, or if that’s a separate one.

The three pins represent the encoder itself. The middle one is the common pin, that goes to ground. The other two go to D2 and D3. The order is unclear from this schematic. But in the worst case it works reversed, which should be an easy fix in the firmware.

5 Likes

Hello,
I have rebuilt this. The push button is the switch from the encoder.
Works well.

1 Like

Hey so I need help wiring one of Hagiwo’s circuit with the rotary encoder, specifically the 6 ch trigger sequencer. So far after programming the ardiuno and other components, it looks like it works given the screen seems to be fine. But I’ve spent almost an hour trying to figure out how to properly wire the rotary encoder to be able to navigate through the screen. I’ve had it where I had the two back pins be connected to ground and D12 on the arduino as the momentary switch. And when it came to wiring the pins, no luck either. I have a 10nf capacitor wired between pin 1 (A) and pin 3(B), another between 1 and pin 2(C) with pin 2(C) grounded since it is the common pin. But I’ve wired D3 and D2 on the arduino to pin 1 and 3 respectively, still didn’t work so then I switched where they were. Still didn’t work, can anyone help?