Engineering Project - Analog to Digital Synthesizer

Hey all -

I am an engineering student taking an Analog to Digital class and decided to build a very, very simple analog synthesizer as my final project.

I have 4 months to build this thing - my goal is to produce a true analog sound, amplify it with an Op Amp, and use high resolution potentiometers to play with sound. Ideally - I would like this synth to be a 5 key keyboard that uses something like Cherry MX swtiches.

Once that is accomplished - I plan to use clocking signals combined with a series of AND gates and memory to achieve some level of basic Digital Signal Processing downstream. Haven’t really figured this out - but I have a bright team member spearheading this part.

My question to this community is: how can I create a true analog sound using simple components (oscillator, resistors, and potentiometers)? Stating with a single note, how could that be done? A function generator? Then, how can I play two notes at once?

I have the ability to create decent quality PCBs once I have the modules down. Thanks for any help you can provide!

Look at some of these:

Selected synth related LMNC projects

Item Store link Project link Discourse link Annotated
ARDUINO SEQUENCER KEYBOARD project discourse
MIXER project
SIMPLE 1v/oct OSCILLATOR project annotated
SIMPLE ENVELOPE GENERATOR project annotated
SIMPLE LOW PASS FILTER project annotated
SIMPLEST OSCILLATOR project
SUPER SIMPLE MIDI KEYBOARD project discourse

The “Simplest Oscillator” is interesting but I wouldn’t try to make it the basis of a synth. For one thing it’s simple in that it has very few parts, but it can be tricky to get it working. For another thing its range is limited and it’s hard to make it work reliably to play different notes.