My First Project - Simple Oscillator

So I’ve decided I want to make my own Modular Synth, even if it’s just a super simple Square/Tri/Saw type thing. THing is, I’m really new to Schematics, Circuits, and Components. I am doing my research but I wanted to know if I was understanding this image properly.

I used EasyEDA to piece together my interpretation of the circuit, but I’m not sure if I got it right.

The Original

My interpretation:

I’ll probably expand on this topic as I go down this road. WIll be putting a video series together about my journey as well. Thanks in advance!

5 Likes

You got some connections misdirected here. RP1 connects to the same point as the junction of C1 and U1, not the transistor base (which connects to nothing, Sam recommends cutting it off). R2 also connects to that point, not to ground.

The part number shown for the transistor is… well, I don’t know what it is. But with a 9V supply you will want a transistor with a low avalanche voltage such as SS9018.

This oscillator can’t drive a bare 4-8Ω speaker, it has to be a powered speaker with built in amplifier (or a separate amplifier and speaker).

The original has an LED. You’ve drawn a rectifier diode, 1N4007. If you don’t want an LED lighting up you can just leave it out. It’ll affect the frequency of the oscillator but no diode is needed to make it work.

You should be aware that while this oscillator is very simple in terms of parts count, it is not necessarily simple to make it work. Even if you have a suitable transistor type such as SS9018 sometimes you have to try several different ones to find one that works. With 9 V power especially it can be a bit of a challenge. There are easier oscillators to get working, even if they have a couple more parts or an IC to deal with. I wrote more about this oscillator here Super Simple Oscillator: Simple except when it isn’t – Analog Output .

6 Likes

UPDATE: Noise Generator? lol