3340 VCO problems

So I’ve been trying to make a VCO with the AS/CEM3340, and after two AS chips and one CEM chip, I’m no closer to getting the design off the breadboard. I’m still new to electronics, but I’m baffled as to why it won’t work. I’m sure I haven’t burnt any of the chips out, but on all three of the 3340 chips the 3340 VCO Core that LMNC released isn’t working. Can anyone see the problem here? Excuse my excessive amount of trimpots, I’m just using them in place of resistor values I don’t have. That should be fine right?

1 Like

I think you need to provide a bit more details than “isn’t working” because that can mean anything :grinning:

Have you checked the voltages?

This guide is about the performance oscillator, but a lot applies to any build:

This search has more.

2 Likes

Hi, I’m not getting any signal from any of the three outputs. I have checked the voltages and they’re all within operating ranges of the datasheets. I’ve checked all the levels etc of everything the oscillator is plugged in to and it’s all fine, so I believe the issue is on the breadboard. I’ll have a look through them threads at some point, but if you know of any common problems like mine please let me know.

Measured signal (e.g. using an oscilloscope) or by listening for it? If CV is outside bounds, you won’t hear the output, but it’ll probably show up on an oscilloscope.

See the annotated link for where to measure CV and supply voltages in circuit. Note that this is a bit different from what you’ll find in the datasheet, since the latter doesn’t necessarily tell you what voltages you’ll see in the design you built (e.g. the CV input pin is current-driven, and held near 0 V by the 3340, and the datasheet generally gives you values for ±15 V supplies, not ±12 V).