Question about 3340 VCO module

Hi,

So I’ve just finished building my first DIY project, the CEM3340 VCO on LMNC’s website, using the AS3340 chip.
However, as a beginner I assumed that I would be able to plug this module into a guitar amp and I would hear sound, however after plugging into one, I can’t hear anything. I was wondering if I need a VCA or something to amplify this module before it reaches speakers or I’m being completely stupid and a guitar amp is not compatible with the VCO.
Sorry for what is probably a stupid question, If you could make your responses easy for me to understand that would be great as my knowledge in this is not extensive… yet.
Cheers

2 Likes

hello !
the VCO alone should work
becarefull it’s not a guitar signal, test with a amp not expensive
if you have no sound at all it’s maybe a error on your work. checked and checked again all your circuit.
have you do a symetric alimentation for this module (+12/gnd/-12) ?

2 Likes

If it’s your first project, it may just be some silly build mistake somewhere (we all make them, all the time) but let’s start by assuming it actually works.

First, your synth output (if working) is way hotter than your guitar pickups, so you may want to experiment with something else to verify how things work – do you have some cheap active computer speakers, perhaps? Make sure volume/gain is turned way down before you plug things in, and ramp up very carefully from there. The signal may still be too hot for the amp, depends on how much headroom it has, but if you have signal you should hopefully hear something (possibly distorted).

If you still want to try with the guitar amp, make sure you plug it into aux/line in (if your amp has that). Again, make sure volume/gain is turned way down before you plug things in, and ramp up very carefully from there, otherwise you may blow up your drivers (and/or your ears).