Problems with my first VCO

Hello there.

I have started to work on three modules for a school project, with the deadline of january 31st, but I ran into a problem.

I have recently finished building my first module, LMNC’s simple VCO with the square wave output and pwm. When i went to test it out i have had no signal coming out of the outputs.

I tried trobuleshooting but so far with no succsess. I have cheecked the power supply connections and I think there is no problem there. I tried wiring each of the outputs individually because I thought that maybe i have wired something wrong on the panel, but it didn’t work.

Right now I have how to fix it and I hope I haven’t fried the chips, even though there was no smoke or smell. Since I’m a beginner and have almost no idea what I’m doing, I really need some help!

Thanks.

BTW I didn’t know where to post this so I made a new topic.

If you are talking about the super simple oscillator there are a few threads.
TLDR; is usually just that you need to find the right transistor to get the oscillation. So try a bunch of them and see if that helps. :slight_smile:

I’m talking about the CEM3340 vco.

1 Like

Do you have a multimeter?

2 Likes

Right now I don’t, but I plan on getting one asap

Thanks, I’ll try to fix it using this.

1 Like

It’ll be hard to proceed without one.

2 Likes

Yeah…not a lot of troubleshooting you can do without one, except looking things over. Even the cheapest one you can find would work. I used a $4 or $5 harbor freight meter for six months

3 Likes

Did you make all the track cuts on the strip board?

Lets see the PSU…

Post up a couple of Hi-Res pics of the front and back of the strip board.

Rob