Which modules to build first?

Hello. I’m a total newbie to the synth party so I have a slightly silly “beginner question”. lol

Which modules should I build first?

What I mean?
I have a huge ambition to make a damn modular synth but I don’t know where to start!! Unacceptable!
Maybe I’m being too impudent here (sorry for my english :smiley: ) but it would be super cool if some of you guys could give me a list of modules (unlimited list welcome) and some types (models) of different modules (because, as I understand it, there are many different ones) that I need to collect to make my first synthesizer cabinet! (Any information would be helpful).
This will be an unaffordable luxury FOR me, with incredible gratitude FROM me!
“Oh shit, im sorry”

3 Likes

You’ll want an oscillator early on, because that’s something you can hear. But VCOs tend to be among the more complicated modules, so not necessarily the best thing to build first.

Partly it depends on your level of experience — if you’ve built other electronics projects before a VCO may be a fine starting point, if you’ve built little or none then maybe a simpler module would be better. Or even a non module, like a simple Atari Punk Console which is easy to build and does produce interesting sounds.

Otherwise the simplest modules tend to be the least interesting — mixers, buffered multiples, etc.