Turning led chaser into sequencer

hey guys i wanted to ask you guys a quick question, is it possible to turn this ne555 4017 led chaser into a 8 step cv sequencer? if so how? thank you :slight_smile:
41UKiLmGOlL

4 Likes

Hey, cool idea! That’s actually easy :slight_smile: you need to set up a potentiometer as a voltage divider at each of the leds. Connect pin3 of the pot to the led (anode) and pin1 to ground. Then the middle pin is the output of that stage. Put a diode there and connect it to your OUT. Do this for all leds (all connect to the same OUT) . I will make a drawing later :slight_smile:

1 Like

yoo thank you man anyway you could draw it in like a visual form? im not good at schematics lmao

Before: find the point between the chip and the leds:

Then do this:

I hope that you can get what I mean from my shitty drawings :slight_smile:

4 Likes

thank you for the visual, i took your idea and made it into a drawing on mspaint
let me know if there are any errors in the circuit.

3 Likes

Looks good to me! You might want to add a tl072 buffer at the output (good practice, not necessary needed) and maybe another voltage divider (just two fixed resistors ) to reduce the overall range. 9V means 9 octaves, which makes it hard to get the steps tuned, I guess.

1 Like

great, i put 9v to mean nine volts battery

1 Like

also what does adding a tlo72 o amp do to the circuit? i dont know if it would be neccesary to add an op amp since its just cv out put.

1 Like

But if the 4017 is powered from 9 V then its outputs are 9 V, and presumably that’s what you get on the pots. Nothing wrong with a 9 octave range if that’s what you want but a voltage divider, or a < 1 gain output op amp stage, would reduce that if it isn’t.