Synthesizers for da kidz?

Will see my son and daughter tomorrow and a granddaughter and a grandson.
Because of “reason” not much of Xmas gifts were delivered from Santa Soundbrigade but …

… last year I gave my granddaughter (now 6 yo) and her brother (11 yo) a Noise Toaster, which, I guess, was much appreciated. So I came up with idea to get the kids a “real” synthesizer. But what to give them?!
To have something ‘substantial’ I got myself a Behringer Crave. But it is a bit demanding and requires a bit of programming.
A Behringer MS-1 seems to me be a good choice - real (well…) keys and knobs and switches.
It is a bit pricey but well I owe the kids a lot.

But any ideas of zynthz for kidz?! DIY?!
Price <$250.

3 Likes

I have no experience with it but the Blipblox is designed as a kids’ synthesizer and has gotten some good press including some saying it’s not just for kids. The original version looked like something you’d find in the toys section of the thrift store but apparently is quite good, and there’s an “After Dark” version that looks more grownup as well as having some improvements.

4 Likes

I like the little Korg synths. Monotron and duo. Add in a baby8 sequencer and you’re rocking.
Rackit do some great kits. Their drum synth is the old PC2 type which is a brilliant noise machine and takes a cv pitch and gate. Rackit also do a baby8 kit which I used to do unspeakable things to my neutron. Good times!

Don’t overlook the Pocket Operator boards which are stupid cheap 2nd hand now.

4 Likes

Volcas! Volca Bass has a proper filter, volca beats is a great little drum machine, each is about 100 bucks.

4 Likes