Super Simple Oscillator Gate Input

Hello everyone,

I’m very new to all this so please be gentle. I built the SSO today and got everything working (almost the first time). Really cool! I had a lot of fun and I’m pretty pleased that I got it right despite using a different transistor (BC337) etc.

What I’d like to do next is add a gate input so I can turn it on and off with my SQ-1. I’m not expecting it to be super musical but I feel like this should be quite possible.

My idea was to add another transistor after the output and connect the gate input to the base. This … doesn’t seem to “work” or, at least, it doesn’t do what I hoped it might. I will go recheck what I’ve done but is this even vaguely a feasible approach? I tried a BC557 and I had a voltage divider to drop the gate input from the SQ1 from 10V to 5V.

Thanks for reading and even more thanks for any help anyone can throw my way. I’m having fun messing around whether I get anywhere or not.

Edit: thought immediately after posting - would it make sense to connect the transistor between the output and ground?

3 Likes

If you upload a drawing showing the way you modified the original schematic, that will make it easier to see what it is you are experimenting with for people reading your question.

4 Likes

Hi mabu . welcome to our space , no need to worry we are of all skill levels here . dam you got the SSO working right off thats a good start , there are a few of us including me that had a heck of a time with that thing .

3 Likes

Thanks! No doubt it’s beginners luck that I got this far…

I’m attaching a draw of what I’ve tried to do. I’ve not shown the SSO circuit itself because that is actually working but let me know if that would be helpful. I strongly suspect that what I’m aiming for here is just me thinking about the problem completely wrong.

In my diagram the orange parts are what I’ve added; everything else was working. My thinking was: