Schematics (understanding and drawing them)

Hey guys,

I’d like to open this thread to discuss about drawing and understanding electronic schematics, and would love if this becomes a place where newbies can share their first attempts and be corrected by those who are more experienced :slight_smile:

As u know I’m quite new to electronics and would love to start drawing my schematics.
I got a couple of questions to start:

1. How did u start approaching schematics? Got any suggestions on how to start drawing your own?
  2. Where do u all guys draw your schematics online?

Hier is the one I drew for the [Arduino controller] that I built for my sound installation. I’d love to get some feedback on this!

(My build progress)

6 Likes

I’m known to occasionally draw my schematics by hand, especially when sketching out a new design, but otherwise I mostly use EasyEDA these days. A lot of people use and like KiCad, which is a bit more powerful but it’s 2020 and I don’t install software if I don’t have to :smiley:

So what is your circuit supposed to do? I see a 5 V battery (is that a thing?), two LEDs without current-limiting resistors, so they’ll die almost immediately, and two variable resistors that don’t do much, except consuming 5/5000 = 1 mA at one end, or shortening the battery and damaging themselves at the other end. That’s probably not what you set out to build :smiley:

(I can guess what you’re aiming for, but explaining it to yourself in terms of your schematics might be a more useful exercise.)

7 Likes