Schematic heavy questioning (Simple PT2399 delay and Triple Splashback)

Hello !

I’m trying to build the PT2399 delay module (With Sam’s modifications). I’m new at this so I don’t quite understand schematics, but I try. Really hard. So the questions are : Where do I connect these parts (highlighted in red) on the main circuit ? And I thought modulars were +/- 12V, so why do I see +5V indications ? I tried to make sense of it by my own, but I can’t. Not cool enough. Alright thanks !

The thing I’m trying to build, but I want it on PCB (with EasyEDA).

This is a Eurorack style 10 pin power header:
And this:
connects wherever you see +12V marked, for instance here:
it’s providing power to a 5 volt voltage regulator (L7805), which is where the +5 V comes from.

(Not all modulars use ±12 V, ±15 V is rather common, but Eurorack and Kosmo use ±12 V; the Eurorack specification actually calls for +5 V to be supplied too, but usually Eurorack systems just distribute ±12 V and if +5 V is needed it’s done in the module with a regulator, like this.)

This:
tells you +12 V should be connected to pin 4 of the TL074, and -12 V to pin 11.

Here
you see +5 V (from the L7805) is to connect to pin 1 on the PT2399.

I think that’s it for the power distribution.

Except that there really should be some capacitors added to this circuit. Two 10 µF electrolytics, one from +12 V to ground and one from -12 V to ground, both located close to the power header, and three 100 nF ceramics, from +5 V to ground near pin 1 on the PT2399 and from +12 V and -12 V to ground near pins 4 and 11 on the TL072. Ideally they should be located right next to those pins. These are bypass capacitors and while the circuit will probably work okay without them, it’s best to add them.

5 Likes

to be precise for the second it’s more GND to -12V :wink:

3 Likes

Thanks ! It’s really helpful :slight_smile: Can you tell me if I got it right ? I’m no so sure about the capacitors. Did I place them right ?