@SAM, Terminology Video Idea

Sam…

?Do you like green eggs and ham?

Aside from that, I am a more or less total newb at creating electronic music. TBH despite being fond of 80’s electronic music, up until recently I did not even appreciate there was a difference between how say A Moog Mini and a DX worked… Now it’s fairly darn obvious, even realizing the difference between a “Synth” (DX) and “Sampler” such as the Emulator should have been obvious but has only relay klicked in the last year or so…

Now I am finding that although I understand things such as the VCO, and indeed the purpose of VC. Some of the other terminology is still a little fuzy.

Your VIDS go a long way to introducing Modular to the masses and showing anyone can make a cool sound…

But how about a whirwind video of Terminology and what it means, how it’s used and the efect…

I have read lots of DRY and uninteresting websites and usualy switch of as the tone is sometimes condescending. As I say some of this I have worked out, perhaps though the ORDERING of modules is a mystery…

VCO
LFO
GATE ???
ASDR

I am sure there is more that could be covered in your no nonsens style…

Cheers

Rob

2 Likes

This isn’t what you asked Sam for (and honestly I think it would be great if he could make such an intro to the main terms). I have found this glossary useful for pinning down the precise meaning of some terms.

http://www.vintagesynth.com/resources/glossary.php

I’ve noticed that often the terms gate and trigger (described as synonyms in this glossary) are used in subtly different ways. Gate is used to describe a signal that is expected to remain on for the duration of the effect desired, whereas the term trigger is more often used in a context where only the transition from off to on is used.

1 Like

Check out Andrew Huang’s recent Video on Modular Synthesis. :smiley:

3 Likes

Cheers Both…