PW causes pitch change on AS3340 VCO

Hi everyone,

I’ve built the 1V/Oct VCO as built by Sam, including the pulse extension: STUFF - LOOK MUM NO COMPUTER
And I immediately ran into the pitch change issue caused by changing the pulse-width knob, which I found a few threads about. However, since I’m a beginner, I didn’t manage to actually fixed the issue using the information I was able to find.

It was mentioned in this thread and I built the circuitry that connects to pin 3 and 4, but no luck. I believe a CEM3340 was used by the topic starter rather than my AS3340.
https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=231130

I have also found this fix by the manufacturer: http://www.alfarzpp.lv/eng/sc/AS3340%20tip%20VCO%20_%20PWM%20.pdf
However, it is not clear to me what kind of zener diode I have to use in the schematics and whether I can use other transistors as well. I don’t have the ones that were described and they don’t seem easily available to me.

I dont want to goof around too much since I’m afraid I will break my AS3340’s. Already fried one. Can somebody with more knowledge explain to me how Sams circuit can be adapted to fix this issue? If we could put up a schematic somewhere with this issue fixed it would help a lot of new people who are trying to build a robust VCO :slight_smile:

Thank you very much!

Ahhhh the old PW changing pitch on the 3340 rears it’s head again.