Another CEM3340 problem post

Hi guys, sorry to make another one of these, but I’m going mad trying to figure out what’s wrong with my circuit.

I’m a newbie so I thought I’d try the simplified version of the performance oscillator (with just saw and tri outs). I’ve seen the annotated layout that fredrik posted, and all my voltages line up. I’ve checked the continuity between every strip to make sure there were no shorts that weren’t supposed to be there. I’ve checked continuity across the drill bit separation and we’re all good there. I’ve multimetered all my resistors and they’re all good. I’ve double checked my wire jumps. I can’t figure it out!

The only thing I can think of at this point is that I hooked up power before I realized I hadn’t made the wire jump from pin 4 of the op-amp to pin 10 of the AS3340 and that somehow fried the 3340. However that part of the circuit seems to be more about conditioning the output than supplying power.

Sorry it’s all so cramped. I started drilling out the stripboard before I realized I had to place the components in on the other side, haha. Also when I was buying components I assumed the 1 watt resistors were somehow better than the 1/4 watt ones and didn’t realize how big they’d be!

1 Like

I just checked the cv voltages and I’m able to get up to 12v going through the top lead of the resistor which is closest to the AS3340, and it does change when I twist the pot. I also checked continuity of the jack sockets onto the stripboard and we’re all good there.

I don’t have my CV jack wired in yet, but from the looks of things I don’t think it should make a difference.

You haven’t actually said what the symptoms are.

2 Likes

Oops, you’re right. I’m not getting any sound out of either jack socket. There’s only some faint white noise.

Are you looking at it with a scope? Or just listening for it?