Need help with Arduino for Hagiwo VCO

Hello,
This is my first time using an Arduino nano board (Atmega284p), I need it for the Hagiwo VCO build.
When I try to upload I get an error saying that the board is not responding.
Heres what I did so far:

1. Connected board to computer via USB.
  2. Installed Arduino software.
  3. Selected port and board type.(shown as connected, LEDs on board turn on).
  4. Added VCO code to sketch, added mozzi library.
  5. Successfuly compiled the code.
  6. Tried to upload multiple times but failed.
  7. Tried to reinstall bootloader but failed for the same reason. (device not responding).
    I’m lost… Any ideas?

Is there really such a thing as an Atmega284p? There’s a Atmega1284p but I don’t know of any Nanos that use it. AFAIK they’re all 328p or 168.

Some Nano clones use a different bootloader than the official ones, there’s a menu item to select “old bootloader” in that case. Try both.

1 Like

are you sure where the problem is located?
I recently had a wild ride with win11 and arduino drivers. i had to use older drivers and tried several itterations till i found a working one.

TL;DR: try a different pc preferably with a different OS

You are correct, It’s 328p, my bad.

I see. Will try that.
starting to think that digital modules are too much of a hassle for me.

Is it a genuine Nano or a Chinese clone? Have you installed the 340 chip driver if it’s a Chinese clone and set to old bootloader?

I’m pretty sure that It’s a Chinese clone. It’s my first attempt with Arduino (or clone), so I was not aware that it needs a special driver, since the Arduino software did recognize a connected device. I’ll give it a go.

Switching to the old bootloader seems to do the trick. Thanks!
I’m attempting to build an adaptation of Hagiwo’s design (actually It’s a mixture of his 3 Arduino VCOs) made by someone on Github named Test Bild.