KiCAD Silkscreen, Soldermask, and Exposed Copper Help

As the title implies, I am seeking help with utilizing KiCad for designs on the solder mask, silk screen, and exposed copper, etc.

I know how to make vectors in Inkscape and import them as footprints and all that, but I would like to make more intriguing designs on the panels that I am making like seen on a lot of eurorack modules, as well as Sam’s very own LMNC Panels.

I did make a neat silkscreen tonight that I figured I would share.
It’s an older picture of Sam with a bent Speak and Spell!

Any help is greatly appreciated as usual!

1 Like

Search YouTube for “pcb art” and “badge life” for various tutorials & timelapses (not using kicad so cannot recommend a specific one).

1 Like

Do you have a particular question? I’ve only recently started doing PCB panels so I’m still learning, but I did just do one with some exposed copper and PCB substrate.

2 Likes

Exactly like the techniques you have used on your board is what I am looking to do!

Removing all soldermask in areas, exposing copper, adding plated areas etc.

that looks good man! Did you need to know how do do specific things, or just want some inspiration?

Whenever i want to smoosh something into a 1 bit color image, i use this online converter that works pretty well. Works best with smaller images, since larger images, the dithering may produce undesirable effects.

Here is the example with my icon:

1394771094804-ditherlicious

The thing to know is that the solder mask layer is basically a negative. Anything you put on there means there won’t be a solder mask in that place. Then you just have to make sure there’s actually a copper layer under it.

1 Like

Yeah, I am a complete novice with KiCad… lol

I only know how to do what I currently know how to do because of your Thread and Notes and Volts’ video about making a panel lolol.

Anything past that, I know nothing in kicad. Lolol

2 Likes

Have a look here:

3 Likes