DIY Midi to Trigger interface? Arduino?

So I got a broken Roland TR77 drum machine for cheap, which I fixed and now it works again.
I ordered the trigger interface from circuitbenders already (the trigger Inputs on the TR77 need -12V, this interface converts +5V to -12V).

Now I am not sure if I want to just put 13 trigger inputs (mini-jack) on the drum machine or maybe figure something out to convert Midi to 13x 5V triggers.

Has anyone done that before? Maybe using an Arduino? I have no experience with Arduino, except building the Kosmo VCO tuners.

I know Tubutec offers a Midi-Trigger interface for Roland drum machines, but in my opinion it’s way too expensive.

Cheers

1 Like

It should be very straight forward if your not needing velocity ( assume this interface can’t do that anyway )

A simple sketch will listen on midi for the note on/of and all you do is match that note to a digital output and set the output high whilst the note is on.

1 Like

The interface can’t do velocity, but the Guiro Sound on the TR77 actually has 2 trigger inputs with different voltages. I think these have different pitches and can also held “on” as long as there is a gate.

So I’t just need an Arduino? No DAC between the Arduino and the trigger outputs? Do you have an idea which Arduino would suit this application best?
Thanks!

I am currently building a midi2trigger/gate module as a Kosmo PCB Project :wink:
It is not yet ready and I can not tell how much longer I will take, because I have little time available at the moment, but I can of course share what I have already.

This is a 7.5 cm wide Kosmo module.
I use a shift register for 8 outputs and then 4 additional outputs directly from arduino pins. I thought 12 outputs should be enough for now. They are buffered by TL074s to protect the outputs and put put 5V triggers/gates. Trigger / gate should be switchable with a spst switch.