Beginners guide to eurorack

First off, haven’t found any other guide so far and I’m new to all of this. I didn’t even know modular synths were a thing until seeing Sam’s rack mounted twiddly knobs and thought “oh that’s like a mini moog”.

My reason for research is twofold.

1: I bought that vclfo https://www.lookmumnocomputer.com/projects#/vclfo and I need a box for it.

2: https://youtu.be/TxNrCcOUws0
Oh wow that’s mental, a casio vl tone but it doesn’t sound shit and all thanks to the mutable instruments clouds module.

So now I’ve established that the sounds I’m making “cud b betta” if I use a fancy box of tricks with nice sounds to further process the “a bit gud, cud b betta” sounds I’m already making.

What I’ve found I need so far;

1: a box to put modules in. It’s base on the 3u 19" rack mount standard. Which leads me to the horrible vision of the future where I have my modular synths and a sever rack pc in one enormous shelf and I’m taking it with me on a plane when on holiday as dawn on a sunny island is the right time for me to be creative. Or, a smaller box what can be folded up into a suitcase which seems sensible. Yeah.

2: a power supply. A quick search for “eurorack power supply” leads to a myriad of choices for a psu and a bus board or flying leads to take power to modules. Haven’t found much about the power standard but it seems to be 12+, 12v- and 5 volts, respectively. Helpfully people who make modules state what voltages their modules take and what current they draw. I’m looking at milliamps. I’m also looking at the prices for the psu’s and I’m thinking "hang on, the ATX power supply standard is 12+ 12- 5 and 3.3 volts as a bonus (maybe two 1.6v incandescent light bulbs? Might be fun). So get an old laptop power supply and use a dc-dc converter. First thing that came to mind was the delightful world of skinned knuckles and swearing galore that is mini itx.

https://www.mini-itx.com/~picoPSU-80