Power supply: +12V/GND/-12V

Hello everyone :slight_smile:

I’m new to the world of modular synths, Eurorack modules, etc. and I have a question regarding the power supply that I should use.

I built the Super Simple Oscillator and I really love it, it’s really fun! Now I’d like to build a few other modules to make it sound better, so I looked at the “Simple analog Low Pass Filter” tutorial… And I realized that you need 3 wires to power it up: +12V, GND and -12V.

I’ve been building guitar pedals for a while now (mainly cloning existing stuff; basically, I know how to solder but I don’t really understand electronics). Guitar pedals only have two wires on the PCB: +9V and GND. It’s pretty simple: just use a 9V DC power supply or battery and you’re good to go. But I’m not sure I understand this +12V/GND/-12V thing. Could I use a 12V AC power supply like this one (and modify the weird plug to solder it directly to the PCB)? Electro Harmonix EU12AC-1000 Power Supply – Thomann UK

I know that a lot of people use power supplies that are specially designed for Eurorack modules, with bus boards and all, but 1) I won’t build a big rack of modules & 2) I’m on a budget. So a small power supply like this one would be more convenient for me. Would this work?

2 Likes

Eurorack uses +/- 12VDC, so the bad news is that you cannot use such an adaptor directly. The good news is, you can make +/- 12VDC from 12 VAC. You could for example look at the Frequency Central Microbus, that’s a small PSU/bus fed from such an adaptor.

1 Like

Unfortunately that won’t work. Because this powersupply is alternating current. This is however used to go into something like Microbus – Frequency Central

So this alternating current (the powersupply your link gives) is being split into +12v (which is provided by the 7812 regulator) and -12v (which is provided by the 7912 regulator) direct current.