4031 Gate Looper

Hello everyone,

I’m usually just lurking around, sometimes asking for help if I’m stuck and don’t know what to do. I recently built a gate pattern looper that some of you may find interesting. I haven’t found any post covering such a module, so here you go.

4031 Gate Looper

This is a 64-step gate/trigger sequencer (or looper) built around the CD4031, a 64-stage shift register.
An Arduino-less big button-ish module; less fancy and has fewer functions but more DIY (in my opinion), and no coding is required.

The module is based on Kristian Blasol’s schematics. See the original schematic here (Dropbox) and watch Kristian’s video here (Youtube).

Note: Kristian’s design itself is based on a schematic of Tiny Dazzler/Magic Pulsewave, which you can find here (Dropbox)

I somewhat modified the circuit, see the details below. I haven’t breadboarded this before the build, and I’m not an expert: I only have experience with electronics through DIY synth. The module works, but some stuff might be improved.

1. Schematic

This is my modified schematic:

4031 Gate Looper schematic

All semiconductors are general-purpose components, nothing fancy is needed:

• 1N4148 for diodes (except LEDs)
  • BC547 (or 2N3904) for transistors
  • TL07x for op-amps

The reset wiring could be tricky, see the explanation below (under Limitations)

No calibration is needed.

1.2 List of modifications

These are the modifications I implemented (see the labeled schematic below):

(a) Add a 100K resistor to GND before both op-amp V+ for input impedance
(b) Add a diode in series before both op-amp V+ for reverse polarity protection
(c) Replace 1k resistor to GND with 47k in the voltage dividers before both op-amp V- for a better functioning comparator (so the minimum input is raised to +3.84V instead of +0.12V – which was too small in my opinion)
(d) Connect buffered input to the output stage via a diode to include tap/in as direct output