USSR Drum module issue

Hi all, someone help me to understand why my PITCH and WF(wave form) potentiometers are not working, I have built a eurorack module using this circuit on a stripboard (where I found this schematic - they tested it and assured me it worked), when testing I found out that these potentiometers do not work, I checked the circuit and layout many times but did not find any errors, I connected everything correctly, checked all transistors, diodes, chips, all connections and holes, and did not find any error, help me to identify it, please!

This is my first time transferring a circuit to a stripboard, so I may have done something wrong, I want to make sure I transferred the circuit correctly.

@analogoutput @Dud @rob @Jos , Guys please check my scheme when you have time !

Note best practices:

That’s a fairly complex stripboard layout, an unfamiliar schematic, and a very vague description of what is wrong (“the potentiometers don’t work”). Asking people to debug such a thing is a lot.

2 Likes

You need to provide some more info about what is working and what is not working.

Is there any sound being produced at all? Under what circumstances is this the case?

Does the envelope generator do anything if you send it a pulse, e.g. does the led respond to an input pulse? Can you see the envelope generator’s output signal on the base of Q7 (or hear it using an audio probe)?

I encourage you to look into how to make an audio probe, it is dead simple (you only need a capacitor, some wire and an amplifier) and try to use it as a diagnostic instrument. Try it on something that works first.

Does the VCA work? You can test this by injecting a signal via a capacitor on the base of Q5, you should then hear something on the output if you send a trigger pulse to TRIG IN 1 (provided that is working)? Or inject a signal on the collector of Q5 OR the collector of Q6 via a capacitor (1uF should be enough). This may help in checking IC5’s working.