Parts to order for prototyping

I’m looking to get back into electronics and planning to do so via modular synths. The combo of both analog and digital is appealing, as are the low signal rates making for easy DSP later. I studied ECE in college so I’ve got some electronics and signals knowledge, but I haven’t applied them much due to going into software after.

To start, I’m planning to build some analog modules, and I’m trying to figure out what I should stock up on for prototyping. I don’t particularly care about reproducing old circuits, but I want to be able to put together a variety of practical circuits that use modern materials and chips. I have some of the tools I need already, like a couple breadboards, soldering iron, hookup wire, oscilloscope, multimeter, etc. and will add some others, but that’s a separate task.

To that end, I’m trying to figure out what to stock up on for making prototypes. Ideally some of these parts could also be used in designs for actual use, like there’s little point in buying special pots just for prototypes when they could also go in a panel. Budget is not fixed but I’m expecting this all to come in around $400. I’m currently thinking that I want:

• A collection of 1/4W resistors, at various tolerances, including some which are fairly precise (.1%?) and low-thermal coefficient. 47 to 4.7M should cover pretty most of what I’ve seen in audio circuits.
  • A collection of capacitors. These break down into power handling (uF) and signal path (mostly pF). Power caps could be cheap electrolytics, maybe? Or ceramic. Signal path should be low temp coefficient, probably C0G.
  • Some trimpots. Linear, log? Anywhere from 200-200k max value.
  • Some non-trim pots for controls. Log and linear, and probably only have to cover the 10k to 100k range. These tend to be expensive ($x.xx not $0.0x) and are big, so a narrow range is nice to be able to not get 100 of them.