Of volca samples, pajens, arduinos and midi

Hey felllas.
Just approaching the topic. I see this as an idea-gathering thread more than else.
The volca sample upgraded with pajen firmware really is a great workstation, and being able to send CC to the different parts is brilliant; but, the form factor gives it some limitations.
So I had this sketch in my mind of just slamming some buttons on a pcb, dividing them in two sections:
one that would send “mute” CCs on the general channel of pajen’s midi config, which would be n.11, the other sending monophonic note data on a single part channel, n.1 or n.2 or whatever.
Would such a feat be possible? Is mine just a fever dream?
Could you recommend me some resource to study the general arduino-midi topic further?
Any contribution appreciated, sorry if the thread’s not relevant I’m a noob lol

The best place to start into midi controller making is with our old pal Dave over on YouTube’s Notes and Volts channel. Still the best intro in my opinion. @lookmumnocomputer ?

Sorry, yes it’s feasible.

2 Likes

I can not find it now, but I think that @caustic made some great introductory posts on midi controllers?
I think, you might already be able to do what you plan if you watch some arduino basic tutorials (on how to connect knobs, buttons etc.), check how to connect a midi out to arduino (it’s really simple!) and then use a midi library (I like this 47effects library. Just start experimenting and ask along the way :slight_smile:

5 Likes
5 Likes

I happen to have some experience with this. You’re going to need a few different things:

• Arduino (Nano probably, the small cheap one)
  • A few electrical components for the MIDI circuit
  • The materials for the controller
  • Patience