Need help with Arduino MIDI-to-CV

First, hello and thank you for this fantastic community. I’m just starting out on my diy synth journey and this community and the Youtube channel were a big motivator.

I already build a VCO based on the Moritz Klein/Erica Synth VCO and now I need something to drive it.

Based on the midi to cv circuit by HAGIWO I came up with this variation:

I am still a beginner in electronics so I have some questions and probably some errors or bad choices in my circuit. My biggest questions where I need advice are:

1 - I only have a MCP4922 without internal reference voltage so my plan was to use the ~5V Arduino supply as reference voltage and scale it up to 0-8V or 0-10V (and splitting the 0-4095 DAC values accordingly) via the OpAmp and trimming resistor. But I’m unsure if that is a good idea, even so it seems to work on breadboard. Any ideas here? And how precise is good enough? My current breadboard implementation is roughly ~10mV off per octave…

2 - I not sure how I should build the clock, trigger and gate outputs to include an LED. There seem to be different ways to do it that I have seen from different people. And should I include the diodes like in HAGIWOs circuit?

Feel free to comment on any other problems of my circuit, I’m eager to learn.

Without a solid reference voltage the CV could possibly be out each time you use it. I prefer the mcp4822 with it’s internal vref or a quality reference voltage generator.

Depends how good the regulator is on the Arduino. The UNO has a regulator but the Nano doesn’t.

Hi pgeh,