Making the museum callable externally

so there has been a plan for a while to get the museum wired into the world. so people can call in to the telephone exchange when the museum is open and call any of the synths or any of the phones or techmoan etc. this is a video i shared on patreon yesterday however i felt it would be good to share here to explain our progress. A user by the name of @Dax is helping with this project, yesterday we sat and got some progress that you’ll see in the vid! but we are setting up this thread just to get ideas and also technical tips etc using FREEPBX as there are a number of aspects to the project.

8 Likes

Hello world

As Sam has said we are having trouble with the actual setup of the software, By day i am a Telecom engineer but have never dealt with PBX setup before as i have always dealt with the physical infrastrtucture/line side.

Any help or knowledge in how we setup freepbx would be greatly appreciated, we have got as far as having dial tone on the 3 outputs but havent been able to dial in to one of those succesfully yet, Its all in the setup i guess but trying to learn something entirely new is an uphill struggle for both of us :smiley:

7 Likes

Are you talking just the configuration and setup? I dont have personal exp with PBX, but im sure a lot of us on here have basic to intermediate Linux administration exp.

It looks like freepbx has a web interface you can enable that should aid with setting up and configuring things like DNS and routing.

https://wiki.freepbx.org/display/FPG/Configuring+Your+PBX

If you want to discuss in more of an instant message format, you can head over to the discord here:

3 Likes

This might be useful too:

https://wiki.freepbx.org/display/FOP/Example+systemd+startup+script+for+FreePBX

1 Like