Issues with simple RC Filter

Hey guys,

I am pretty new to these DIY electronics things so maybe someone has an idea how to fix my issue.

I started out by building the super simple oscillator. This works fine and is putting out a nice stable sawtooth.
Now I wanted to build a simple filter for it. I wired everything together like in Sam’s video:

The filtering itself seems to work. My problem is, that when I turn the “tone” pot, the oscillators pitch changes with it. I tried some different ones on breadboard and different pots create a different change in pitch.

Im using a Frequency Central Minibus power supply, if that is of any help.

Thanks in advance

Cheers

1 Like

Any change i could hear a recording? Even a poo poo phone recording would suffice.

You probably need to put a buffer stage between the output of the super simple oscillator and the filter. This prevents the filter from influencing the workings of the circuitry that make up the super simple oscillator. The buffer could be an op-amp which is configured as a voltage follower, as described here. So from left to right you would then have:
super simple oscillator → buffering opamp → filter → amplifier → loudspeaker

2 Likes

Here, maybe this helps:

I tried it with different capacitors. The second one is bigger and there the effect is more audible

Thank you so much. I´ll try this today and tell you if I made it.

Actually none of the op amps I have here seem to be working. I’ve tried a TL074CN and a TL072IP. Maybe these are the wrong ones?
Whenever I plug in the voltage leads to them, my whole circuit drops out. Maybe I am missing something. Is there maybe a schematic I could look up or a breadboard layout?

Opamp buffer schematic
opAmpBuffer

plus +12V & -12V power (pin 7 & 4 for TL071 / pin 8 & 4 for TL072 / pin 4 & 11 for TL074)

TL071 have 1 opamp
TL072 have 2 opamp
TL074 have 4 opamp

and bypass cap 100nf for all power pin to GND (the more near as possible of the opamp pin)

1 Like