Introductions: Say hello, tell us about yourself and your projects

It’s customary to have a topic on a forum where new users can introduce themselves. Here goes.

About me.

I’m Bitnik on MuffWiggler Forums where I’m new and quite chatty, but to reiterate the important stuff I’m very new to modular and as I’m not made of money I’m going to build my own gear. I’ve ordered a couple of Kosmo PCB+Panel kits and a Frequency Central power PCB and an AC wall wart to feed it. I’m using an old bookcase rather than building my own cases.

Another early project will be a midi adapter for CV, because I’ve got midi keyboards to spare. Meanwhile I have access to a Moog Theremini (bought by my son) which has a single CV output, and I’ll also be having fun with a 50cm membrane potentiometer.

8 Likes

Hi,
Just got back into music gear recently. Been playing with some tape loop stuff on old cassette recorder, some stuff with monome norns and pocket operators. Wanting to learn more about building modular synth gear here starting with the simpler projects (simple oscillator etc.) and I built a ring modulator recently which was fun!

7 Likes

cool bitnik sounds good! im working on some carts, if ordered in the right places these modules can turn out rather cheap, I was doing the maths, the LFO is about £12 in parts at rapid, the only things for example that are a bit annoying are resistors as you usually get them in packs of 100 for £2 but if your building a few modules it does end up rather cheap! ill aim to add cheap tricks onto the forum etc. but cool!

3 Likes

Your great advantage is that you’ve built many circuits so you have a good instinct about what builders need. I’ve got a lot of resistors and capacitors, but for any one build there will inevitably be stuff that doesn’t quite work.

yep indeed! its part of the fun haha