AI generated code for modular?

hI,

just had a fast play with ChatGTP, AI chat bot…
blew my mind, check my screen-capturing.
I asked the bot for the following:

"This is an idea for a modular synthesizer module. can you write me code for arduino Nano 3 based on the The Kuramoto model. The idea is that the output pins go high inspired/influenced by the The Kuramoto model. The full process is clocked from an external clock coming in on a pin. This clock can be divided. An analog potentiometer influences the amount of spontaneous synchronization of the oscillators. "

I am not a coder, so it’s difficult to judge for me. But I think that is pretty amazing science-(fiction).
I interrupted the recording halfway or so.

1 Like

The other day I asked it to generate a simple VCO in C++, then add MinBLEP to it, then convert it to Python code. It’s extremely impressive: this knowledge is pretty niche, and it wasn’t a straight copy-paste from open-source code. I didn’t verify the code, but it looked sane.

But while it’s extremely impressive, it remains a language model: an absurdly powerful autocomplete.
It has no understanding of what it talks about, and is prone to hallucinations (it is the term of the art). The more arcane the subject domain, the more it hallucinates, the more it returns patent nonsense with a cocksure air of authority.

This project would pipe together multiple uncommon, poorly documented domains. It seems likely you’d have to debug subtly nonsensical code very soon into the project, even if the general idea might look correct.

2 Likes

You should at least try to compile the code to see if the syntax is OK.

If it worked at all, it could have been interesting to see what it puts out,
but right from the start, it declares pin 2 a both the clock input and one of the 16 outputs, so that won’t work.

16 floating point oscillators in an 8-bit micro-controller also seems quite ambitious.
How fast does this need to run?