2002 Oscillator Drone of Doom

8 Likes

I just ordered one of these, but i am having trouble finding an equivalent DC barrel jack in Canada. The one linked in the BOM says its rated up to 25v and 3a. The closest thing i can find is a 30v 0.5a rated jack. Would this be sufficient to power this?

Thanks for any help!

I’m far from an expert but personally I wouldn’t do that.

2 Likes

Those numbers are maximum ratings for the amount of voltage/current the jack can handle. As long as you don’t go below ~15v and around 0.1A you should be ok. Most barrel jacks are suitable for this module.

The one you suggested will work.

2 Likes

One out there alive and kickin’ with it’s frinds :slight_smile:

demo

i took two 2.2, 4.7 & 10 nF as range caps, marked as H, M & L on the knobs
(edit:img updated)

6 Likes

Just got my panels in the mail today. Got it all built up, but when I plugged it in to test I get no sound, but all the LEDs light up just fine. Is there anything I should check?

1 Like

Hi welcome to the forum.

• plz doubleckheck and reflow your solder joints
  • have a look at the public schematic

i THINK if you have LED action that is even reacting to the central pot than you are pretty close to success

5 Likes

Hey sorry to dive in here like this. I bought this and the aaapppccc a while ago when I was first building, and never got around to them. Now I’ve built this fella up, and I can get NOTHING FROM IT. It is making me insane. Hit all the joints again today with the iron and nothing. One thing I did notice, was some of my joints are HUGE! I was using a new roll with higher flux, and it took me a minute to get used to it. I always figured that a little extra solder was okay, as long as it wasn’t dead or making a bridge, but maybe I’m creating a short? Idk. Do I need to clip the center leg of these transistors like the super simple oscillator? Thinking of just de-soldering and starting over. Any help is appreciated.

1 Like