10LE8 Tube Wavefolder/Drive (works on 12V)

So, this is my first design. I’ve spent all week tweaking and testing it, and I am super excited to share it here. It works great, and the sound can go from a good tube saturation all the way up to absolute madness.

I’m still not sure what to call it exactly, and I am not an engineer so I would be lying if I knew exactly what was going on in the circuit. From looking at the waves on the scope, it adds some crazy harmonics and folds in the waveforms when you flip the Mutate switch and goes into insane self-oscillation extremely easily.

I’ll post some audio examples shortly, but for now here is the schematic - I tried to make it as easily understandable as I could (I work on industrial equipment for a living and I hate how vague some of the schematics can be):

(the company name is just me being a weeb though I’m considering started a blog for my circuits)

and a BOM:

• C1, C2, C6 - 10uF
  • C3, C5, C8, C9, C10 - 0.1uF
  • C4 - 47uF
  • C7 - 1uF
  • D1 - 1N4001
  • D2, D3 - 1N4148
  • R1 - 100R
  • R2 - 1M
  • R3 - 680R
  • R4 - 1M5
  • R5 - 3K3
  • R6 - 470R
  • RV1 - 50K
  • RV2 - 500K
  • RV3 - 500K
  • RV4 - 500K
  • U3 - TL071
  • U5 - LM350
  • V1 - 10LE8

Let me know if I screwed anything up or could do something better.

I will add audio momentarily!

edit:

Here’s some audio!

Square wave with some saturation

Square wave Mutate On

Square wave, slower decay with Mutate On

Playing around

Triangle waves

Triangle mutation slower decay

Self-oscillation with Mutate On

9 Likes

This is a slightly odd notation. 104 means 10x10^4 picofarad, i.e 100,000 pF, which is the same as 100 nF or 0.1 uF. I’d use either 100n or possibly 104 in the schematics, not both.

More weird tube modules, yes!!

I particularly like " Square wave, slower decay with Mutate On". I’d like to hear some drones/chords through it!

Any reason for the 10LE8 in particular? I have a spare 12AX7, would that work?