Too myopic to trouble shoot, need help!

Hello, I have built a 6 oscillator module for my synth and I am having some issues that hopefully a bigger brain can figure out. I have built 8 modules so far that all work perfectly, but this one is stumping me.

It is essentially 6 reverse avalanche oscillators going into the “super simple mixer” with cv control on each oscillator. Everything functions, the oscillators are humming along, but I am experiencing a few problems…

1-output is lower than I expected coming from the tl072, not loud enough to match other modules

2- when I touch the volume pots I get a crackle or pop, and when turning the pots up from silence they sound scratchy, When holding the output jacks with my hand the crackle goes away. Putting it through the MS20 filter it makes the MS20 input knobs noisy as well.

3-when I turn all oscillators all the way up the volume completely cuts out.

Something def isn’t right, and as this is my first attempt at putting different ideas together on my own, I need some guidance… How can I make the output louder and get rid of this odd grounding behavior??

Here is some useful info…
-have tried different chips
-tried different pots
-tried different grounding methods (grounding from the oscillator to pot, or daisy chaining everything together
-am getting proper voltage to chip

Thanks in advance.

1. The mixer stage gain is (minus) the ratio of the feedback resistor to the input resistors, so swapping in a higher value resistor for the feedback should give you more volume. You could do it on either of the two op amp stages but I’d go for the first one. R9 in the schematic, connecting to TL072 pins 1 and 2.

2. I’m guessing a grounding problem. You don’t have a conducting panel and I don’t see any wires connecting to the pot bodies, that might be an issue.

3. That’s pretty normal, there’s a current range where the avalanche oscillator works and it abruptly stops working both below and above that range.

2 Likes