Peroxide to whiten yellowed keys

Using a brush I applied gel which contains hydrogen peroxide (this stuff is normally used to bleach hair a.o.) on the ‘white’ keys of an old midi controller / keyboard the keys of which had turned yellow with age. Each part I’ve packed in a closed plastic bag, so that the peroxide does not evaporate too fast. Unfortunately we’ve had lots of clouds and little sun during the daytime, so this may take a while.

I’ve done this with some other plastic things with success, so I’m hopeful this will work as well.

Has anyone done this / any experiences with this?

1 Like

I’ve got no experience of this but I do have a 76 note controller that needs whitening. Let me know how you get on.

There is this video where Adam Savage used hydrogen peroxide to whiten restore the lid of a Nagra tape machine. I remember that he was only partially successful.

I’ve seen that video and was puzzled by what he was doing. Peroxide is used to whiten yellowed plastic. The lid of his Nagra was never white (in fact it was transparent), nor has it yellowed. So I was not expecting anything to happen and in my opinion the video shows that indeed nothing much happened. The small differences visible between the start and the end I would attribute to him cleaning the lid. So I think he used a method that was not fit for what he was aiming at. I’ve seen several people whiten old transistor radio cases successfully that had gone yellow and I have successfully whitened a weather sensor in the past few days. So I know the method works / can work on plastic, I’m just not sure whether it works on all plastic, what amount of peroxide to use and what time it should stay in the sun and ‘how much’ sun is needed anyway. Would it work on an overcast day as well?

I’ve taken pictures of the keys beforehand and will do so tomorrow and report back.