Ms20 Vcf not working

Hello! I’m new to this discourse thing, I couldn’t find any thread so here I am.

I finished the ms20 Vcf late last night, when I plugged it in the whole modular stopped working, and the led’s on the psu went dim.
When I unplugged the Vcf, the other stuff worked again, didn’t have any time to check the build, and don’t really know what to look at.

When I get home from work, what should I check first?

1 Like

Check for any shorts? Ive accidentally shorted the -12 to gnd before and the short protection of my powersupply kicked in. Could also be a over current thing? not sure…

5 Likes
5 Likes

I wonder if that post should be pinned to the top of the forum, It does seem to get linked to a lot as it is not immediately obvious to forum newcomers, and I feel most forum members have referred to this.

3 Likes

It’s pinned in the FAQ category, no?

I wonder if we should go a step further and make it into a banner at the top of the forum that all users see (it can be dismissed).

4 Likes

Reversed power header perhaps?

3 Likes

So, I found some shorts and removed them.

When I plugged it in after removing the shorts the psu is acting normal, I got a little hiss but no sound, I checked it again and the next time I plugged it in, nothing at all. The opamp gets really hot, like I cant even touch it, it smells a little funky too.

Could the opamp have broken with the shorts and that’s why it gets so hot or is something else wrong?
I’ve looked at the build and cant find any component in the wrong place etc.
Almost feels like there still should be a short for it to get so hot? I don’t even dare have it plugged in so I can check it with a meter.

2 Likes

You probably have one or more of the following problems: