Help converting schematic to strip board layout

Hi everyone!
I am very new to modular synth diy, my first project (after building a small drone) is a power supply for a larger case. But I am really bad at schematics and don’t have access to buy the frequency central power supply diy kit.
So I thought I would build my own on stripboard and found this video made by Moritz Klein DIY SYNTH PSU: How to design a simple dual power supply - YouTube of how to build one but unfortunately he doesn’t share a strip board layout.
Is there anyone that would be able to help me convert his schematic into a strip board layout, or maybe give me some tips on how to do so?

Here is the schematic:

1 Like

Hey,

Can you read a schematic? As in, you know what all the symbols refer to and how they’re connected together?

If so, most people use diyLC to layout stripboards. That might be a good place to start.

This would be an easy layout, as it would almost be literally as seen on the schematic. That being said, you’d need to google the pin out of the 7812 and 7912, so that you have those oriented the right way and you’ve connected the input to the input, etc.

Something else to note is that 4700uf capacitors are quite physically large - you’ll want to find the dimensions of the ones you’d be buying. You can change the size of the components on diyLC to match.

If you can’t read schematics, that would be the place to start.

4 Likes
4 Likes

Ahh thanks for the tips!
I know what the stuff means, especially in this easier schematic, although I have a rough time converting it to a strip board layout… I will look in to diyLC!
thank you! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thank you, will look in that thread!

4 Likes

By the way, in @THOGRE’s design I recommend changing D8 (from +12 V to ground) from a 1N4004 to a 1N5817 or similar Schottky; see posts starting here. D4 (-12 V to ground) can stay a 1N4004, or I think probably can be left out entirely as talked about later in that thread.

4 Likes