Eurorack Hooting Owl

Hey, new to this forum so we’ll see how this post does.

I wanna make the hooting owl Sam showed off from the December 1972 issue of Practical Electronics, and I wanna make some changes to the circuit. I’m still fairly new to electronics, I can use a soldering iron and stuff, but I’m clueless when it comes to the values and modifying circuits so any help would be greatly appreciated.

As the title suggests, I’m looking to make the hooting owl but in a eurorack module. Therefore I’ll need it to work on 12V, and I won’t be using a speaker, just a 3.5mm output instead. I also want CV inputs for the trigger, and also for the 3 pots Sam used in his video. I’m guessing the values of whichever resistors are replaced should be the same for the pots, e.g. a 10k resistor being replaced by a 10k pot but I may be wrong. I also don’t know which resistors to replace, so if someone could tell me which ones I should replace and why that’d be amazing. I’m considering a volume pot before the output too, not sure if it’s worth doing though. This will be my first custom eurorack module so we’ll see how it turns out!

I’m sure you guys will be able to help out, so I look forward to your responses.

2 Likes

Are the schematics posted anywhere?

CV control of something that’s currently controlled by potentiometers can be trivial, or really complicated (see e.g. this thread and the links in it).

Here’s the schematic, page 43

I’ll have a look at that thread, I have wondered how exactly to go about adding CV inputs to the same things as pots.

Thanks for the response!