Church Organ Midi To Solenoid Controller

Hi All, This is my first time posting here so apologies if this information has already been covered in another post, or if I’m not posting in the correct section, although I believe this falls under DIY.

Okay, down to business. I’ve been attempting to build the “Midi to Solenoid” controller that has been featured in the church organ videos. I’m no beginner with electronics, but coding and midi are new to me. I was hoping some of you guys might have already built this system and might be able to provide some insight on why I cant get mine to work.

I used the provided gerber file and had several of the PCBs made, and populated one of them. I also rigged up a couple bread boards with some resistors and leds as an easy way to test the system without going through the trouble of hooking it up to the actual solenoids. I also used the code provided with the gerber file for the Teensy processor and after some trial and error, (Installing Arduino Teensy addon software) I’m quite confident that the code is uploaded to the Teensy.

A quick note before I go further, I have made two modifications to the board from the original design, which I don’t believe should impact its operation, but I felt I should mention anyway incase you guys know something I don’t. The first modification is that I am running the board at 24vdc rather than the original 15vdc used on the church organ. My applications solenoids run on 24vdc. I checked to make sure that the voltage regulator was able to still step down the 24vdc to the needed 5vdc for the Teensy and other control voltages, as well as checking the voltage ratings on all other components used on the board, and 24vdc was within the safe operating range for all of them.