3340 osc makes weird stuff

Hey, I’m trying to build the 3340 Osscilator. It doesn’t work and i don’t understand whats going on. I’m a noob at building stuff, please help me^^
What i have found out so far:

1. I only get sound from the saw out, the other ones stay quite. The pitch knob works but just between 4k-6k i’d guess, not the whole range.
  2. All outputs have -12 volt (I had in mind that standard be 5 volt, maybe its allready an fail? But the saw out is also -12)
  3. The trimpot changes nothing.
  4. The few volts on this picture match with my one (Annotated Simple 1V/Oct Oscillator Stripboard)

How do i troubleshoot the problem? I dont really understand the troubleshooting advice post, i guess beacuse i’m building the stripboard version.
thanks a lot

2 Likes

Hello Rufus and welcome to the forum.
Neither am I an expert but there are a lot of experienced people here who might be able to help. Could you post a picture of your build please?

2 Likes

I don’t understand your description, you say you have sound at saw out but you also say saw out is -12 V. These can’t both be correct. Are you using a scope or a multimeter? If you’re trying to measure voltage on the outputs with a multimeter you probably won’t get very useful results since these are not (supposed to be) constant voltages. Even so I would not expect it to show -12 V on an output that is producing sound.

1 Like

Hey, thanks:)
I dont have a phone with a camera, so it takes some time to upload a photo but i’ll try

Ok weirdly i’ve double checked it, now i dont have sound on the saw out anymore, but the -12 v stayed. I use a multimeter.
Hmm so probably i made a mistake while soldering or how could that be?