1222 via Thonk octave switch dead at 3rd and 5th

Howdy!
Just built a 1114 and a 1222.
Went to do the calibration for the 1222 and I couldnt figure out why the tuner was flickering all over the place and then just went to an _ underscore at octave positions 3 and 5.
When I actually plugged in the VCO out into my interface to my surprise… it stopped making noise at both positions!
It was like a quick pitching down into nothing.
Moving it back to 1 2 or 4 immediately brings the oscillator back!
I honestly dont even know where to start here as in terms of DIY i’m just a humble kit builder.
I have a multimeter and the voltage is 3.996. pretty damn close!
any and all input is welcome!

Welcome to the forum!

How do the connections to pins 3 and 5 on your octave switch look? What about the pins on the Molex connector? I suspect that the 3 and 5 positions aren’t making contact somewhere, or perhaps that the internal connections in the switch are damaged. I had the same descending pitch thing happen when I forgot to put in the locking washer and turned the octave switch past the highest position which had nothing connected.

I’ve also damaged a rotary switch before by applying too much heat when soldering the connections to it. I just checked the spec sheet on the ones I use from Tayda and they’re not supposed to exceed ~350 °C for more than 3 seconds at a time when manually soldering, and I likely exceeded that time limit by quite a bit. Whoops!

Are you able to check for continuity between the center pin and the other pins when you have the switch turned to those positions? If positions 3 and 5 don’t check out, you probably need to replace the rotary switch.

certainly check the connections on the switch, molex and pcb , idealy tone them for continuity.

The resistor ladder must be okaish , but measure the voltage on the common wire on each step.

Rob