Ribbon controller DIY (VHS...)

I want to try this and make a little drawing.

As everyone is starting to know, I am far from an expert in theory, and would prefer a little peek of a @analogoutput or @fredrik for example :slight_smile:
Does this seem logical, correct, safe, … ?

thank you in advance

4 Likes

Looks okay to me.

My understanding is that VHS tape varies, some kinds are useful for this and some are not (different resistivities) so you may have to try several.

Another way to do it is to put the tape above a conductive surface with a small gap in between, then use your finger to touch the tape and press it against the conductor. In that case the conductor takes the place of the probe here.

Note that this always puts out a voltage — 0 V when you’re not touching the probe to the tape. Or when you are touching the probe to the tape right at the left end. That is, this produces only a CV, no gate. If you want a gate on when you touch the probe to the tape and off when you don’t, you need something more elaborate. Here is the first of a series of blog posts I did about a ribbon controller I made, mostly the same as the one here. (They also did a MIDI version.) It used a rather expensive Softpot but you could do it with VHS tape.

An Arduino reads the ribbon and generates both CV and gate. It was the first electronics project I’d done in a long time and a bit sloppy, and I think there’s a thing or two that could be improved in the controller design; I’ve considered rebuilding it using a downsized version of my dac/ino board but I haven’t gotten around to it.

1 Like

From what I understand is that you need to use SVHS tape (no idea where to get that), as VHS tape is not conductive. Also, you may need to use an amplifier for the signal to drive the LED or anything else and use the tape just as a voltage divider.

There’s also this for a considerably more complex, non Arduino approach:
https://paia.com/dual-ribbon-howto/

2 Likes